During its regular meeting on September 18, 2017, the Alleghany County School Board took the following action:


            Randall S. Tucker, Chairman                                                 

            Gerald E. Franson, Vice Chairman

R. Craig Lane

Danielle I. Morgan                                                                              

Norman L. Persinger, Jr.

Jennifer S. Seckner                                                                            

            Jacob L. Wright                                                                        



            On motion by _______, seconded by _______, that the following resolution be adopted:


WHEREAS, school bullying has become an increasingly significant problem in the United States and Virginia; and


WHEREAS, over twenty percent of the youth in the United States are estimated to be involved in bullying each year, either as a bully or as a victim; and


WHEREAS, an estimated one hundred sixty thousand students in kindergarten through twelfth grade miss school every day due to a fear of being bullied; and


WHEREAS, bullying can take many forms, including verbal, physical, and most recently in cyberspace, and can happen in many places on and off school grounds; and


WHEREAS, it is important for Virginia parents, students, teachers, and school administrators to be aware of bullying, and to encourage discussion of the problem as a

school community; and


WHEREAS, Alleghany County Public Schools has developed a model policy on anti-bullying to encourage positive behaviors and to eliminate bullying behaviors;


THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Alleghany County School Board recognizes the month of October 2017 as Bullying Prevention Month, with the intention that the issue of bullying and its prevention be discussed in Virginia schools and classrooms during that time.


Adopted in Alleghany County, Virginia, this 18th day of September, 2017. 





________________________________                    _________________________________

Randall S. Tucker                                                       Lorie C. Bess

Chairman                                                                    Clerk